If Diderot and D’alembert made it, I can make it. Si Diderot y D’alembert lo hicieron, yo también puedo


The 23 of April is the world book day, and I want to reflect about the evolution of  knowledge, perhaps because my education has  associated the book with knowledge.  And suddenly I noticed that during the last 3 years I have spent more time, and learned more things reading in screens (TV, mobiles, PC, Tablet,..) than in papers. To be honest  I have to say that I prefer books,  the touch, the smell, the well done editions,  nothing can compare with those sensations. But I read books only when I want to relax. And for that I need free time. This means that I have associated books with pleasure. So, when I need to look for a concrete information or to pass time in a didactic way I  use Ithe nternet. So, usually  the concept of reading  on screens to my is associated to work.

I have to confess another thing: I am  a fanatic reader of WIKIPEDIA; usually it is the first page to consult. I use it to orientate my investigations and after that I submerge myself in the network; wikipedia is  my magnetic needle, after using it I can star the road. The concept of Wikipedia is great, share your knowledge with the world, in a free way, like Diderot thought. Diderot “wanted to incorporate all of the world’s knowledge into the Encyclopédie and hoped that the text can disseminate all this information to the public and to future generations” (wikipedia). And nowadays I have taken the relief from Diderot; I  use and edit  wikipedia. I have collaborated in the article on Lipovetsky. I wrote it and added my doctoral thesis ( about Lipovetsky; José Carlos Ruiz Sánchez) THis way of sharing the knowledge show us that solidarity is still possible. Knowledge hasn’t got limits.

I post two videos about wikipedia, the second one  tries to explain why people collaborate in this project.

El 23 de Abril es el día internacional del libro  y me gustaría hacer al respecto una reflexión sobre la   evolución del conocimiento, quizá sea porque en mi educación he asociado habitualmente el conocimiento con los libros (diría que erróneamente). Y pensando en esto me he dado cuenta de que en los últimos 3 años he pasado más tiempo y aprendido más cosas delante de una pantalla (tv, pc, tablet, teléfonos móviles,…) que delante de un papel. PEro tengo que ser honesto: mis preferencias son los libros físicos, el olor, el tacto, el placer de una buena edición son incomparables. SIn embargo sólo leo libros para relajarme y sólo cuando tengo tiempo libre. De ello se deduce que he asociado los libros con el placer.  Pero cuando necesito buscar una información concreta, o aprender algo de modo didáctico o dinámico  suelo utilizar internet, de modo que para mi normalmente el concepto de lectura en pantalla está asociado al trabajo.

Tengo que confesar otra cosa: soy un fanático de WIkipedia; normalmente es la primera página que consulto. La uso para orientar mis investigaciones y después de esto me sumerjo en la red, es mi brújula con la que comenzar el camino. El concepto propio de Wikipedia es genial, el de compartir el conocimiento con el mundo de un modo gratuito, tal y como Diderot pensó. Diderot quería incorporar todo el conocimiento del mundo  en la Enciclopedia y tenía la esperanza de que toda esta información  llegase a la gente y a las futuras generaciones. A  día de hoy puedo decir que yo también he tomado el relevo de Diderot: uso y edito en la Wikipedia. He colaborado en el artículo de Lipovetsky . Lo he escrito y he añadido mi tesis doctoral (sobre Lipovetsky). Este modo que compartir el conocimiento nos demuestra  no sólo que la solidaridad es posible y real sino que además el conocimiento no tiene límites.

Dos videos:

The history of Wikipedia

Why people collaborate in this project

Responder

